Some football loving citizens of the Old Bauchi State comprising of the present Bauchi and Gombe States came together in 1992 and made a representation to the government at the time for the formation of a state football team. Wikki Tourist Football Club was the outcome of that presentation. It is on record that the stakeholders who came together to make the case for the football club to the then Military Administrator, Col Abu Ali were Ambassador Senator Haruna Garba (Magayaki of Gombe), Captain Guloba Hardawa, Gidado Mu’azu and Muhammad Baba Duri.

Wikki Tourist Football Club was named after a tourist warm spring water side, the Wikki Spring Water Pool in the Yankari National Park located few kilometers from the Bauchi Metropolis. Also called Giants Elephant, derived from the presence of Elephants in the Yankari National Park, Wikki Tourists have recorded a number of successes, most of which were at the state level were they won a record 13 FA Cup trophies from 1998 through to 2019.

However, the club has also made a mark at the national level, winning the country’s oldest cup competition in 1998 after edging regional rivals, Plateau United via a penalty shootout in the finals. The club has so far made three appearances in the second tier of continental competition, the CAF Confederation Cup in 1999, 2008 and 2017 were they failed to progress to the next stages of the seasons.

Their best performance in the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) was a third place finish in the 2016/17 season guided by Late Coach Abdullahi Maikaba. Wikki Tourists have also had rough rides in the NPFL, having been twice relegated in 2010 and 2013. However, they picked up the title for the lower Nigeria National League (NNL) to return to NPFL in 2011. Notable Wikki Tourists players include Patrick Paschal, now the Bauchi State Football Association Chairman and Iliya Yahaya who is the clubs record goal scorer. Others are junior international, Mustapha Ibrahim and Yakubu Yankari, the longest serving captain of the club.