The name Plateau United is believed to have emanated from the ‘Academicals’ soccer team that represented the then Benue Plateau State at the 1975 National Sports Festival in Lagos when late Sam Garba Okoye, the coach of the side christened the team, ‘PLATEAU UNITED’. Fifteen years after, the name became a reality following the merger in 1990 of then Jos International Breweries sponsored team, JIB Rocks and the Highlanders sponsored by NASCO and known as NASCO Jets were merged to form Plateau United.

The club’s first major silverware was in 1991 when the club clinched the Coca cola FA cup trophy with a one nil victory over Iwuanyanwu Nationale courtesy of Donatus Iloka lone strike in the game. Plateau United would lose all two subsequent finals to BCC Lions in 1993 and to Wikki Tourists in 1998. Having placed third at the Super Four Competition in 1998, the team played in the WAFU Cup competition in 1999 and lost out in the quarter finals and also represented the country at the 2000 edition of African Winners’ Cup competition losing out in the first round.

A downturn in fortunes saw Plateau United relegated to the lower league but it would regain promotion to for the 2010/2011 season only to be relegated the following season and stayed in the lower division until 2015 when the team returned to the elite division.

Plateau Untied emerged winners of the Nigerian Professional Football League for the first time in its history in 2017 and qualified for the CAF Champions League but failed to qualify to the final stage of the competition.

The club was declared winner of the NPFL for the inconclusive 2019/20 season which stopped after MatchDay 25. Popularly called the Tin City side, Plateau United has a rich collection of players who went on to gain international fame amongst who are the immediate past captain of the Super Eagles, John Mikel Obi, Olympians, Emmanuel and Celestine Babayaro, junior internationals, Sambo Choji and goalkeeper, Dele Ajiboye as well as Patrick Mancha, Victor Wikadson, Harry Omokoh and Danjuma Isandu. Famous Coaches that has graced the Clubs dugout include Khadiri Ikhana, Kennedy Boboye who guided the club to its historic NPFL title in 2017 and Abdu Maikaba.