Lobi Stars metamorphosed from two defunct clubs based in Benue State in north central Nigeria. Initially known as Hawks of Makurdi, ownership of the club was transferred in 1985 to Benue Breweries Limited that changed the name to BBL Fc to reflect the identity of the new owner. The club as it is known today emerged in 1990 when ownership was relinquished to the government- controlled Lobi Bank.

In 1990, Lobi Bank Fc which would in 1994 change name to Lobi Stars, were among the teams granted license by the then Nigeria League Board to participate in the maiden season of the Nigeria Professional Football League(NPFL)

Lobi Stars have represented Nigeria six times in the continental competitions, playing twice in the CAF Champions League, thrice in CAF Confederation Cup and once in the West African Football (WAFU) but failed to win any. It’s best performance was reaching the group stages in the 2000 and 2019 edition of the CAF Champions League.

The Club’s bench has been graced by some illustrious Nigerian Coaches including late national team Coach, Amodu Shuaibu, late Solomon Ogbeide and in the 2019 season by Gbenga Ogunbote.

Some notable players that has passed through the club include fomer Super Eagles full back, Taiye Taiwo, winger Barnabas Imenger and Tony Okpotu who ended the 2020 Tunisian league as highest goals scored.

Other remarkable players of the club include David Tyavkase who would go on to win the CAF Champions League with Enyimba in 2004, Sikiru Alimi, Sibi Gwar and Isiaka Olawale who led Nigeria to Beach Soccer success.